Town Square







A Message from the Supervisor

“Welcome to Islip, the 3rd largest town in New York State, but with an endearing small town feel. We are so proud of our town…our beaches, golf courses, marinas, parks, housing opportunities for all, businesses, industrial parks, healthcare and educational institutions including our own Islip MacArthur Airport that provides many job opportunities. I sincerely hope you find this website helpful.” Angie


The tax year begins on December 1st and runs through November 30th of the following year. Tax collection in this office starts in early - mid December (after the Warrant is received) and ends May 31st of the following year. MAY 31ST IS THE LAST DAY PAYMENTS CAN BE MADE IN OR TO THIS OFFICE!!! Unless May 31st falls on a weekend, then the last day for payment is the next non-holiday, business day.

Taxes are due and payable in full on or before January 10th. If you cannot pay in full on or before January 10th, then you must choose to pay in 2 halves. The 1st half is due on or before January 10th and the second half is due on or before May 31st. The following is the penalty schedule for the 1st half of your taxes only.

December 1st – January 10th No Penalty
After January 10th 1% Penalty
After February 10th 2% Penalty
After March 10th 3% Penalty
After April 10th 4% Penalty
May 11th to May 31st 5% Penalty

After May 31st, any taxes plus penalty and interest must be paid to the Suffolk County Comptroller’s office, located at 330 Center Drive Riverhead, NY 11901. (631) 852-3000. Additionally, any back taxes from previous years must also be settled with the Suffolk County Comptroller’s office.

***The information above is a general explanation of the laws/policies regarding your property tax bill. Please see the reverse side of your tax bill for specific information.***

*Taxes become a lien on December 1st of each year*